First snowfall of the season

I finally got my snow on Wednesday morning.  I knew the forecasts of snow were more accurate  this week because the local TV channels started tracking the “storms” on Tuesday evening and all sorts of warnings were out in force.  I kept peeking out the window on Tuesday night in case it started early but it wasn’t until I woke up at 6am on Wednesday that I saw my much wished for white landscape.

I will admit I was very nervous about driving to work.  When I left, most of the roads hadn’t yet been cleared but there were tyre tracks I could follow.  I was fairly cautious and made it to work without any major scares.  The poor people who were finishing the night shift had to clear their cars before they could leave.  I have an underground car park in my apartment complex so at least I don’t have to dig the car out in the morning.

Unfortunately I drove to work in the dark and drove back home again in the dark.  I was so manic at work that I only got to peek out the window for a few minutes and admire the snow.  But it was very pretty, especially in the side street where the office is.  I don’t think a snow plow has ever set foot on that road!  I’ll be over the moon if we get the same thing on Christmas Day.  That’s all I want, a nice coverage of snow to make everything look like a Christmas card.

I know there are more storms to come, most of which will probably be worse that this weeks but at least I’ve got the first one out of the way and have a better idea of what to expect in the future.

Leave a Reply

